Certified Hyperledger Sawtooth Administrator (CHSA)

The Certified Hyperledger Sawtooth Administrator (CHSA) will be able to effectively build a secure Hyperledger Sawtooth network for commercial deployment, including the ability to install, configure, operate, manage, and troubleshoot the nodes on that network.


Hyperledger is an open source collaborative effort created to advance cross-industry blockchain technologies. It is a global collaboration, hosted by The Linux Foundation, including leaders in finance, banking, Internet of Things, supply chains, manufacturing and Technology.

Hyperledger offers a certification program that allows candidates to demonstrate their competence in deploying and operating a Hyperledger Sawtooth network through the command line.

Domains & Competencies

The purpose of the Certified Hyperledger Sawtooth Administrator (CHSA) certification is to provide assurance that CHSAs can effectively build a secure Hyperledger Sawtooth network for commercial deployment. This CHSA exam curriculum includes these general domains and their weights on the exam:

  • Install – 10%
  • Configuration – 25%
  • Permissioning, Identity Management, and Security – 20%
  • Lifecycle – 25%
  • Troubleshooting – 20%

Show More

CHSA Domains and Competencies V1.0

Install – 10%

  • Install Sawtooth packages
  • Start component services
  • Generate keys
  • Register validator
  • Configure peering
  • Verify install and fix if necessary
  • Connect transaction processor to validator
  • Create genesis block
  • Verify system meets hardware requirements

Configuration – 25%

  • Configure validator peering and network
  • Configure consensus
  • Configure logging
  • Configure REST API
  • Configure layer 3 network ports/firewall
  • Configure metrics
  • Configure transaction processor endpoint
  • Configure systemd services
  • Choose parallel / sync scheduler
  • Configure storage paths
  • Configure Sawtooth CLI

Permissioning, Identity Management, and Security – 20%

  • Identify network ID / system / peer ID
  • Permission a transaction processor
  • Policy management
  • Validator registration
  • System permissions
  • Configure validator local policy file
  • Validator key permissioning
  • Role management: transactor roles
  • Role management: network roles
  • Configure transactor permissions
  • Secure connections between components
  • Use a proxy server to authorize the REST API
  • Securing connecting between validators
  • Manage validator keys and secrets

Lifecycle – 25%

  • Create new network
  • Joining an existing network
  • Remove validator node from the network
  • Rejoin network after network failure
  • Restart validator after crash or maintenance
  • Restart components after crash or maintenance
  • Add new transaction processor
  • Changing consensus mode
  • Change network configuration
  • Update Sawtooth software
  • Update transaction processor version

Troubleshooting – 20%

  • Troubleshoot network communication
  • Troubleshoot REST API
  • Troubleshoot consensus
  • Troubleshoot transaction processor
  • Identify and resolve chain fork
  • Fix validator
  • Enable Sawtooth monitoring
  • Monitor network topology
  • Troubleshoot deployment
  • Troubleshoot resource constraints

Combine And Save

Add training to your certification purchase and save $100

$499 Buy

Exam Details

This exam is an online, proctored, performance-based test that consists of a set of performance-based tasks (problems) to be solved in a command line. Candidates have 2 hours to complete the tasks.

The exam is based on Sawtooth v1.0.5

Policies & Resources

Please review the Candidate Handbook and Exam Tips along with other recommended resources below.

At a Glance

Exam Delivery


Duration of Exam

2 Hours

Certification Valid

3 Years

Software Version:

Sawtooth v1.0.5


  • 12 Month Exam Eligibility
  • Free Exam Retake
  • PDF Certificate and Digital Badge

Experience Level



Certifying 5 or more individuals?
Get a Corporate Quote >

You might also like

Hyperledger Fabric Administration (LFS272)